UESP Forums

Discuss the uesp.net site and Elder Scrolls topics.
* FAQ    * Search
* Register    * Login
It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:48 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 
 Post subject: Need help with being arrested without having stolen items!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:33 pm 
Associate
Associate

ES Games: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition
Platform: PC - Windows XP
Hi everyone, I am TOTALLY new to Elder Scrolls. My RPG experience has mostly been with DIABLO and GUILD WARS, but I had such a hard time learning how to play that even after several years and innumerable restarts, I never once ever got to the end of those games. So, I thought I'd try Elder Scrolls. And wouldn't you know it, I'm already stuck, and desparately need your help.

Just be aware that ANYTHING too technical will go over my head. Please don't assume that I know what you mean with abbreviations and stuff like that. I am the epitome of the term "newbie". Your mercy, patience and kindness is appreciated.

I have ELDER SCROLLS IV OBLIVION - GAME OF THE YEAR EDITION (with Shivering Isles and Knights of the Nine).
for PC (Windows XP).

After leaving the prison tunnels (after the king was assassinated) I climbed the hill up to the city and ended up at the prison (I needed to find a bed to rest). After walking around and talking with guards and looking in rooms, guards suddenly started arresting me for theft. It is true that I picked up a few things in some of the rooms but there was nothing that indicated that I was stealing accept the little red hand on the items that only appear AFTER they are in your inventory. Even after I cleared out my inventory of all "red handed" items, the guards STILL arrest me and make me pay a 5-gold fine.

1) Is there any way to know - BEFORE I take an item - that taking it would be stealing?