UESP Forums

Discuss the uesp.net site and Elder Scrolls topics.
* FAQ    * Search
* Register    * Login
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:50 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: How can Arkay and Azura be gods of....?.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:11 am 
Associate
Associate

ES Games: Skyrim
Platform: Xboc
UESPoints: 0
of concepts that existed after them?

1.-god of burials and funeral rites? (arkay)

If death is a concept exclusive to mundus and mortals existed after arkay did how his "sphere" works?. What exactly was Arkay doing before the existance of mortals? how was he a god of burials before the creation of mundus?

and how Azura could be the daedric prince of "dusk and dawn" if the sun/hole (magnus) was created after Azura? and the concepts of dusk and dawn existed only after Lorkhan's proyect? .

I am no expert in lore by any means... Just curious.

Post subject: Re: How can Arkay and Azura be gods of....?.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:13 am 
Champion
Champion

ES Games: Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim
Platform: Xbox 360
UESPoints: 10
Nothing says a spirit cannot adopt a purpose. Both Arkay directly, and some if not all of his cultural aspects, such as Tu'whacca, are thought to have taken on their mantle(s) after the mortal realm was created.

Azura is very mysterious. Her sphere seems to be more about prophecy than anything else. I think of "dawn and dusk" as a metaphor for that. There are those few minutes everyday where dawn and dusk are indistinguishable from each other, if you had no idea what time it is. What some would see as dawn, she would see as dusk, and vice versa, because she apparently operates a few steps ahead of everyone else. And in those magical moments in between realms of twilight, when the stars align just so, what she sees and what Mundus will experience are the same - Mundus just hasn't caught up yet. Hence her prophecies. If that makes any sense whatsoever.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:19 am 
The New Number Two